Skip to main content

E-aineistojen käyttöehdot/Terms of use for e-resources: British newspaper archive

Description

  • Part 1. 17th Century British Library Newspapers
  • Part 2. 18th Century British Library Newspapers
  • Part 3. 1780-1950 British Newspapers
  • 19th Century British Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.

Authorized user

Authorized user

  • all currently enrolled full or part-time students of the Client (University of Turku)
  • currently employed faculty (whether on a permanent, temporary, contract or visiting basis), teaching staff, administrations and staff in the Client
  • any person who is not a member of the student or faculty and who holds a current, valid library card (walk in users) from the Client

Permitted use

Authorized users may

General

  • use of Archieve Materials for educational and research purposes only

Copying and storing

  • copy, store, use, and modify the Archive Materials only for the internal, educational or research purposes of the Client or his or her own personal educational or research purposes

Limited redistribution

  • distribute insubstantial extracts from Archive Materials provided that:
    • the distribution is only for educational or research purposes and is not for commercial purposes
    • the distribution is incidental to some other purpose. For example, inclusion of an illustrative extract in an article for an academic publication, a textbook or an examination paper
    • each extract is immediately followed in clear and legible text by reference to the Archive Product and
    • no more than three extracts from the Archive Product may be distributed in a single work, where a work includes but is no limited to, an article, a textbook or an examination paper

Prohibited use

Authorized users may not

Commercial use

  • commercially exploit all or any of the materials that comprise the Archive Materials

Distributing

  • distribute the Archive Materials to any person that is not an Authorized User

Access

Access by IP-address in the university network.

Remote access is permitted for Authorized Users using University of Turku's utu-username.

Interlibrary loan

The Client may supply to an authorized user of a Participating Member ("Recipient"), in hard copy format or electronically, a single article or item from the Archive Materials for the purposes only of that Recipient's reseach or private study, provided that

  • the copy is used by the Recipient only in hard copy format
  • the Recipient doesn't, in hard copy or electronic format, distribute or otherwise make the copy available to any other person
  • the Recipient makes no commercial use of the copy and
  • the Recipient, the Authorized User and the Client comply at all times with the rules of the Approved Library Loan Scheme from time to time in force