Skip to main content

Reference Management: Reference management programs

Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access

The electronic resources are available in the network of the University of Turku or through remote access for students and staff members. In remote access, resources automatically ask you to enter UTU user ID and password, if needed.

Do you Prefer Another Reference Management Software?

There are plenty of reference management tools available: for example, check the comparison chart in Wikipedia. Other well-known alternatives include, for example:

Zotero (open source),
and for the users of Linux BibTeX.

Comparison of reference management software (Proquest)

Reference Management

Blueberries

Pictures: Morguefile.com
 

Information about training sessions

If you have questions about RefWorks, Mendeley or EndNote Basic, please contact:

tietopalvelu@utu.fi

Loading

Library-supported reference management programs

  http://corpweb.proquest.com/assets/refworks-logo.jpg
Cost Licensed for the University of Turku students and personnel. Licensed for the University of Turku students and personnel Free. The Mendeley Institutional Edition has not been licensed for the University of Turku. EndNote Basic is free. Fee-based EndNote has not been licensed for the University of Turku.
Required software downloads

- Web-based

- Creation of citations and bibliographies in Word requires the download of Write-N-Cite/ProQuest for Word

- Web-based

- Direct import from databases possible by installing Save to RefWorks tool.

- Creation of citations and bibliographies in Word requires the download of Write-N-Cite for Word

- web and desktop based, option to synchronize with web account.

- Direct import from databases requires the download of Web Importer tool.

- Creation of citations and bibliographies in Word/Open Office requires the download of Citation Plugin (Mendeley Cite-O-Matic)

- Web-based

- Direct import from databases requires the download of EndNote Online Plug-in

- Creation of citations and bibliographies in Word requires the download of Cite While You Write

Attach PDFs

Annotate PDFs

Share and networks with colleagues

- Share the whole database. For example, you can create an account for a research group. Or share a Read-only-password for your database

- Share URL for read-only access to the whole database or folder. 

- You can share collections to individuals or to the whole university.

- You can choose whether the other person(s) can only read, make notes or edit.

- You can join and create groups. For example, a Private Group for group work (in the free version 1 Private Group / user, up to 3 people) 

- Follow interesting researchers

- Join and create groups

- Connect - an online community for researchers (beta)

Import references

- Direct import from major database services

- Online search via RefWorks from e.g. British Library or Library of Congress catalogues.

- e.g. ris import

- Direct import from major database services

- You can also use Save to RefWorks tool to import from databases

- e.g. ris import

- Direct import from ScienceDirect and Scopus

- Use Web importer to import from other databases

- Directly from Mendeley Catalog

- e.g. ris import

- Direct import from 9 databases using EndNote Online Plug-in

- Online search via EndNote Basic from British Library of Library of Congress catalogues

e.g. ris import

Free online storage 100 MB   2 GB

2 GB and 50 000 references

Generate citations

- using Write-N-Cite/ProQuest for Word plugin (Windows, Mac)

- One Line/Cite method (e.g. OpenOffice)

- using Write-N-Cite for Word plugin (Windows, Mac)

- There is an add-on for Google Docs

- Using the Mendeley Citation Plug-in

- using Cite While You Write plugin for Word

Citation styles

Over 3000 Nearly 4000 Nearly 7000 21
Modify citation styles

Word processor compatibility Microsoft Word (Windows, Mac), OpenOffice Microsoft Word (Windows, Mac), Google Docs, the Quick cite tool can be used for other word processors Microsoft Word (Windows, Mac), LibreOffice Microsoft Word (Windows, Mac)